top_banner (12K)
SITE CONTENT
Home
Awards
Become A Member
Challenges
Contests/Sprints
CW Assistance
CW QRS Nets
FAQ's/Info
Guestbook
Member List
Newsletter
Pictures
QRP Works
>>> Contact Us <<<


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

Valid CSS
NAQCC Nets

Our Net Manager and Coordinator is Chuck AB1VL (ex-KB1ZMX) (#6799). All info, questions, and comments about the nets and this web page will go to Chuck at this email address:

pix_email_kb1zmx (1K)


Lest you think our nets are not important to members, read this:

"Thanks to all of you for doing these nets. I am a very new Ham and I look forward to making contact, even if its at 3 wpm. How else can I learn. 73 Jerry KF7RCC (#5743)"

Here is our current nets schedule. As always, please carefully zero beat with the NCS frequency. This helps tremendously with filtering out QRM and QRN. If you have any questions, please email Chuck. Thanks for your continued participation.
NAQCC Main QRS Net (NQN)
Sunday evenings 8:00 PM EST, which is Monday 0100Z, on 7060 kHz +/-.
Main NCS - Ron WB1HGA (in MA) 

NAQCC Farnsword Net (FRN) QRS 80 Meter Net NEW
Sunday evenings 7:00 PM PST, which is Monday 0300Z on 3574 kHz.
Main NCS - J.B. KR5RR (in CA)

NAQCC Farnsword Net (FRN) QRS 80 Meter Net Now 80M
Monday evenings 7:00 PM PST, which is Tuesday 0300Z on 3574 kHz.
Main NCS - J.B. KR5RR (in CA)

NAQCC East Texas QRS Net (ETN)
Monday evenings 7:00 PM Central Time, which is Tuesday 0100Z, on 3561.5 kHz +/-
Main NCS - Allen KA5TJS (in TX)

NAQCC MIDWEST QRS Net (MWN)
Monday evenings 8:00 PM Central Time, which is Tuesday 0200Z, on 7117 kHz +/-
Main NCS -  Scotty NU0S (in NE)

NAQCC Rocky Mountain Regional/Continental QRS nets (RMRc)
Tuesday/Thursday at 4:00 PM MT, which is Tuesday/Thursday 2300Z, on 14062.5 kHz.
Tuesday/Thursday at 4:45 PM MT, which is Tuesday/Thursday 2345Z, on 7.0625kHz
Main NCS - Dale WC7S (in WY) 

NAQCC North New England Net (NNN)  
Tuesday evenings 7:00 PM ET, which is Wednesday 0000Z on 7117 kHz +/-
Main NCS - Chuck AB1VL (in ME)

NAQCC West Virgina NET (WVN)
Wednesday evenings 9:00 ET, which is Thursday 0200Z on 7117 kHz.
Main NCS - John N8ZYA (in WV)

NAQCC Pacific NorthWest QRS 80 Meter Net (PNW80)
Thursday evenings 7:00 PM PT, which is Friday 0300Z on 3574 kHz.
Main NCS - Stewart KE7LKW (in WA) 

NAQCC Great Lakes Net (GLN)     
Thursday evenings 9:00 PM ET, which is Friday 0200Z on 7117 kHz.
Main NCS - David WA8AXF (in MI)

Here are some helpful tips for those checking into our nets from our former Nets Manager Craig, followed by some other general net info.

The NQN Sunday Night Net is humming along. We are averaging about 10 check-ins per net. Each Sunday we usually have one or two new stations checking in and a lot of "regulars". I really enjoy hearing from you all and look forward to our time together each week. We've continued to have a good number of check-ins, even when conditions were terrible. That just shows how loyal and skillful the group is. We make it happen on low power no matter what!

There are still some folks whose signal I barely hear but am not able to check in due to procedural issues. I'd like to talk about net procedures in detail so that everyone who wants to check in can. Here we go:

1. Zero beating to my signal is ultra-important. The goal is to transmit on the same frequency that I am sending. If you have a "spot" button on your radio, it's easy. Just push the button and compare my signal to the tone coming out of your radio. If you don't have a spot button, just send a few dits. Are your tone and my tone exactly the same? If not, you are off frequency from me. The result of being off frequency is that you may be outside, or nearly outside, the passband of my radio and I won't hear you very well. The strongest part of a received CW tone is at the center of the radio passband. The further your tone is away from center, the weaker it is. Bottom line: if you want to be heard on low power, you have to zero beat the NCS' signal.

2. Our net is a "directed" net, which means you follow the instructions of Net Control and standard procedures are followed. It's important to follow these procedures in consideration of others. Everyone deserves an opportunity to check in and make some brief comments. Here's how it's supposed to go:

Step 1: Net Control (NCS) calls "QRL? QRL?" to see if the frequency is in use. This is a good opportunity to zero beat NCS' signal.

Step 2: Net Control calls "CQ CQ NAQCC NQN DE N4PLK N4PLK NCS QNI K". That means it's time for stations to send their callsigns for Net Control to copy.

Step 3: LISTEN for other stations first. When you don't hear anyone else trying to check in, then send "DE <space> YOURCALLSIGN". The space is very important. It's a way to listen again to be sure that someone else is not trying to check in at the same time. If NCS hears several callsigns trying to check in simultaneously, (commonly called a "double"), he usually can't hear either station and has to ask "AGN PSE". This is especially troublesome with weak stations and bad conditions.

Step 4: When NCS hears your callsign, he will acknowledge it by repeating it. If he receives multiple callsigns, he will repeat all that he has heard. Example: "R R N6TLU ES N9RLO ES W4HH AS". "AS" means standby. The reason I say standby is that I will return to you LATER for comments. When I acknowledge your check-in the first time, that is NOT the time for you to make comments. If you do, you may be doubling with other stations trying to check in.

Step 5: Wait for NCS to call you again. Example: "N6TLU DE N4PLK KN". KN means NCS is calling you and only you. That doesn't mean it's time for more check-ins. Make some comments, say "73" if you wish, and end with "N4PLK DE <YOURCALLSIGN> KN".

Step 6: NCS will call "QNI K" a few times in between comments and listen for more check-ins. If you have not yet been acknowledged by Net Control, keep trying to call until NCS hears you. Remember: DE <space> YOURCALLSIGN"

NCS will call the entire list of stations individually until everyone has had a chance to make comments, giving more opportunities to QNI in between. Please be patient. If NCS can't pull your entire callsign out of the noise, he will try to get it again. Example: "PLK ?" or "AGN?" or "6 STN?" If anyone in the net happens to hear a station that NCS can't, please relay the station's callsign to NCS. We want to make sure even the weakest station can check in.

That's it guys. Thanks for your excellent participation in NQN. Keep up the good work and I hope we keep growing. Please email me at n4plk@verizon.net if you have any questions. 73, Craig


The Nets are a good adjunct to other means of code practice in that they let stations practice under actual band conditions with the attendant QSB, QRN, and QRM. Practice under fire, so to speak.

Because becoming proficient in CW is a main goal of the NAQCC, we do permit stations to run more than 5 watts for the net IF NECESSARY. However that is the ONLY NAQCC activity for which that is true.

It is suggested that as much as possible, the nets should be run using the Farnsworth method of sending Morse Code. That is, the individual letters should be sent at a higher speed but spaced out so overall the words and sentences are actually sent at a lower speed. This is the best method of learning CW and increasing CW speed. It eliminates the wasteful system of converting dots and dashes to letters. You immediately hear didah as an 'A' rather than thinking, "well that was one dot and one dash, that's let's see, oh an 'A'". You will never increase speed by taking time to convert dots and dashes to letters.

In future we hope to add additional regional nets, but we need your help to do so. If you would like to help with a net in your area, contact our net manager Chuck AB1VL (ex-KB1ZMX) via his email address at the top of the page or via the 'Contact Us' link in the left column. As the regional nets develop, Chuck will send info to be posted here including times, dates, frequencies, and other pertinent info.